Date: 3rd September 2014 at 7:55pm
Written by:

Spurs have announced their Twenty five (well 23 to be exact) squad for the first half of the season.

No major surprises, as the only senior player to miss out is Benoit Assou-Ekkotto, but the expectation is that he will either be moved on in the loan window or allowed to kick his heels in the stands or wherever he might choose to spend his time.

It is pleasing to see both Ryan Mason and Cristian Ceballos named in the squad. Both have real potential and I would be very happy to see Mason used as an alternative to Eriksen, even if that is in the Cup competitions or as a later Prem Sub.

Of the expected first team selections, Eric Dier, Nabil Bentaleb, Harry Kane and Ben Davies are not named in the twenty three, as they are still considered free U21 picks for the club.

The squad is as follows: Hugo Lloris, Michel Vorm, Brad Friedel; Kyle Walker, Kyle Naughton, Younes Kaboul, Jan Vertonghen, Federico Fazio, Vlad Chiriches, Danny Rose; Etienne Capoue, Benjamin Stambouli, Mousa Dembele, Paulinho, Ryan Mason, Christian Eriksen, Aaron Lennon, Andros Townsend, Nacer Chadli, Erik Lamela, Cristian Ceballos, Emmanuel Adebayor, Roberto Soldado.